top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

Welcome


Selfie of Ailsa. Ailsa has dark red hair. She is wearing a red t-shirt. Text visible on t-shirt: Legend

Hello everyone, welcome to my new blog! My name is Ailsa and I live with Cerebral Palsy, I wouldn't say that my disability is that severe because I can do a lot of things and there are people who are worse off than me. Here's one thing that I can do: I can use my feet to operate my computer, I can do this quite easily.

My type of Cerebral Palsy is called Quadriplegic (affects all four limbs) Athetoid (uncontrollable movements) Cerebral Palsy and it effects every muscle in my body, apart from my heart, luckily. My right arm is affected more than my left, I can hardly use my right arm because my muscle tone is worse in that arm, for example, I have more involuntary movements and my right arm has become weaker over the years as well (I have a feeling that this is because I didn't use it much when I was younger).

I like to be as independent as possible, but there are some things I need help with. I have created this blog because I enjoy blogging and I also want to raise awareness of Cerebral Palsy, I hope you enjoy reading my blogs as much as I enjoy writing them!

You may be wondering how I got Cerebral Palsy, I'll tell you. When I was born I didn’t breathe, in other words, I was a still born. I was resuscitated, which means I was brought back to life. As a result of me not breathing, my brain was starved from oxygen and I was brain damaged which means my brain doesn’t work as well as yours. If you asked me, I'd say I am very lucky to be here today.

People often say that they "feel sorry" for me and that makes me feel unhappy and awkward because I am who I am and I can't change that. I don't want anyone to pity or feel sorry for me just because I have Cerebral Palsy. If I didn't have C.P., I wouldn't be the person I am today and I wouldn't have met some of the awesome people I know! So, next time you think of feeling sorry for me, please don't.

I will post all my Social Media links below.

Links

Brains on Wheels, Facebook page - https://www.facebook.com/BlogbyAilsa

Our Life with Cerebral Palsy, Facebook page - https://www.facebook.com/ourlifecp

Brains on Wheels, Twitter - https://twitter.com/BlogbyAilsa


14 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page