top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

My Equipment and Gadgets - Part 1

There are many different types of equipment and gadgets out there and even the smallest and simplest thing can mean the difference between being dependent and independent… I thought that I’d try something different for this post and talk about equipment that makes my life easier.


Aside from the standard, disability adaptions people may have, like hoists and wetrooms, I have had a lot more done to make my home more accessible to me. I know that a phone socket isn’t a gadget or equipment, but it relates to equipment… I have an alarm call system to enable me to call for help should I need it. This was originally at my parents’ house when I was living there, and it was transferred to mine when I moved. The only problem was that the alarm system works on a phone line and the phone socket wasn’t working in my living room, which is where I spend most of my time. As we didn’t know the reason for it not working, I organised an appointment for my provider to repair it. When they came out to repair it, we discovered the socket in the living room wasn’t a master socket and that’s why it wouldn’t work. So, after a few discussions, I had the master socket moved to the living room for my call system.

Recently, the emergency call system people came out to see me to prepare my call system for when my internet and phone provider upgraded their system because previously, my alarm wouldn’t work with their new system. I had an appointment with the alarm people, and it didn’t go as planned… For the call system, there is a pendant with a button and a speaker box. I previously had a wrist pendant that I could place on the floor so that I could press the button with my foot.


I thought that they could just switch like-for-like, but they gave me a necklace pendant with a recessed button. Both my mum and I questioned this because I wasn’t sure if I would be able to use this. When we raised the issue, the bloke didn’t seem to understand my limitations, and he just told me to pick it up and throw it to set off the fall detector, but I find that extremely difficult, especially when I’m laying on the floor after I have fallen (my involuntary movements would set it off if I wore it). Then the man suggested kicking it, but it didn’t activate it unless I really booted it against something, and then I would risk kicking it out of my reach... After a long discussion about how inaccessible it is, he said that he would look into it. Considering that these are made for elderly and disabled people, this is ridiculous, so we will be taking this further.


That's it for now, but come back tomorrow for Part 2!

23 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page