top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

Half Term and Going Back to College


Hello people! How are you all doing? This week has been half term for me, and I have enjoyed the break! I went out with my mum on Monday, we went to Fareham and went into Mum's work office, we were in there for about half an hour to an hour. Then we went for lunch. After lunch we went to have a look around the market. I enjoyed spending the day out with my mum.

On Wednesday, I went swimming at Fareham Leisure Centre, this was the first time I had been there. I was impressed with their facilities, they have a rise and fall bed, which made it easier to get changed. If you need changing facilities, I would recommend Fareham Leisure Centre. They even have a ceiling hoist if you need it.

The not so good thing is that half term is coming to an end! Don't get me wrong, I do like college, but it's getting a bit ridiculous now. Let me explain, I used to walk with two people either side of me. Back in January, my mum and I were called into a meeting with my tutor and the college nurse. Occupational Health deemed that "everyone" had to be hoisted, I'm not sure how much of it is true, but I don't like it!

For those of you that don't know, I can walk with support. I feel powerless when the staff at college are transferring me because all I do is sit in the hoist sling and that is it... I am not even allowed to control my own legs! It feels like my arms are restriced. I'm not in control of my body very much at all now because of this. Also, it hurts when they put pressure on my knees to get my bum back into the seat.

[Update - 22/03/17: I'm still hoisted at college, but it is a lot better.]

Ahem, sorry about that, rant over!

Anyway, I hope you have enjoyed reading this. Let me know in the comments on Facebook, or if Facebook isn't your thing, maybe Twitter is.

Bye for now.


4 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page