top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

Songs That Have Helped Me (Plus an Update)


Hi everyone, I don't know about you, but I'm definitely glad to see the back of January!

I have been thinking about what to write about in my blog, and today I would like to talk about music that has helped me through tough times. Although I have touched on the music subject before, I didn't really go into much detail, so I thought I'd have a go...

First up is McFly's "I'll Be Ok", I think I first heard this song a year or so ago. I particularly like this song because it reminds me that things do get better and I will get there someday.

Next is "Fight Song" by Rachel Platten. I love this song because the words are meaningful, and this song encourages you to keep fighting, and it is realistic because where she says "losing friends and I'm chasing sleep" - these lyrics are very close to my heart because I found it extremely difficult when I lost friends, I blamed myself for ages and I couldn't let go, I was thinking about what I said, I thought I could have said something else to prevent the fall-out, but I'm slowly starting to realise that wasn't my fault. The next line in this song is "Everybody's worried about me" - this is somewhat true because I know that people worry about me, I don't want them to, but they do anyway. The final line in this song is "Know I've still got a lot of fight left in me", which I love because it sums me up perfectly!

Finally, there's Lady GaGa's "Million Reasons". Now, I've been listening to this song a lot recently because I have been quite low over the last month, It feels like I can relate to this song as a lot has been on my mind over most of January. I really like the lyrics "I just need one good one to stay" and "it's like I've stopped breathing, but completely aware".

Another line in this song is "Every heartbreak makes it hard to keep the faith", this line is so true because a lot of things have happened that has made me want to stay asleep in bed as if I'm asleep, then I won't have to face the day. In a way, I'm kind of waiting for something else to happen.

One more line in this song is "Head stuck in a cycle, I look off and I stare", these lyrics can be used to describe me looking of into the distance, not really looking at anything in particular, and thinking about the same things over and over again. I think this is due to my anxiety, I tend to over-think things, and I think about the "what if..." I must drive people up the walls, but honestly, I don't mean to!

 

Update

In February, last year, I wrote a post about going back to college after half-term. In this post, I express my great outrage to being told that I had to be hoisted for transferring in and out of my chair. As someone who is able to walk with support, I hated this because being hoisted made me feel useless. After a lot of work, the physiotherapists have got me back on my feet. I am now doing standing transfers again! The feeling is amazing! I cannot thank the physiotherapists enough!

You can read this post here:

Thanks for reading, and I'll see you next time.


15 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page