top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

Does "Quadriplegic" Mean Paralysis?


Hi again,

A few days ago, I was browsing the web, and for some reason I came across a definition of "quadriplegic", and it said, "affected by or relating to paralysis of all four limbs". When I saw this, I became extremely confused because I have Quadriplegic CP. Every site I look at says that quadriplegic means "paralysis", but I'm not paralysed at all. This definition does not make any sense to me.

I’m no expert, but I think if this definition is correct, it should mean that all my limbs would be paralysed, and I'm anything but paralysed! "Quad" means four, right? For example; A bike that has four wheels is called a quadbike. Which means that "quadriplegic" is more likely to mean "effects all four limbs".

Going by this example is much more logical.

I’m confused by this because since I was little, everyone has said that Quadriplegic CP means that it effects all four limbs.

I would be interested to hear a doctor’s views on this.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you next time.


6 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page