top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

Silicone Straws - Are They a Possible Alternative to Plastic Straws?


On the 29th of December (yesterday), my dad introduced me to silicone straws. He had been talking about getting some for me to try for ages. I have to say, I was quite surprised about how well they worked for me - I was also glad that I can use them because of all the hoo-ha about plastic straws and the environment, etc. As I'm sure you are aware, at this moment, I and many other people with disabilities are reliant on plastic straws, but could silicone straws be an alternative?

When my dad and I were talking about these straws, I was a bit apprehensive because I have never drunk using anything but a plastic beaker or a plastic straw. I didn't know whether it would work for me, but it did! The sad thing is that I immediately thought about how it might stop other people from moaning at me for using and campaigning about the need for plastic straws... Yes, there were people in my life who don't think about the whole picture.

Plastic Versus Silicon (Text at top). Plastic straws at left, silicon straws with two pipe cleaners at right.

The silicon straws are wider than the plastic straws, so that means more liquid can pass through them. These straws feel quite rough, and they also can feel a bit sharp on your tongue. Some people may find that they can use them effectively, but others may struggle. The silicon straws come with their own cleaner, so you can re-use, which is good.

I am trying them to see if I can use them in place of plastic straws, I've used a couple so far. I have found that they have a weird taste to them - a bit like paper straws. I'm not sure if I like them, but I will try them a few more times.

If I can't get on with them, I'm going to go back to plastic. I really do want to help save the environment and animals, but if I'm hurting myself every time I have a drink, then I'm afraid I have no choice. I may get a lot of stick because I have said this, but oh well, it won't be the first time, and I doubt that it is going to be the last, unfortunately.

This may not be a possible alternative to plastic straws for everyone, so please stop penalising people for using plastic straws. Don't give them a lecture about how plastic straws are bad for the animals and the environment; they've probably heard it all before, and each time they hear that story, they feel more and more guilty about having to use them.

If someone says that they need to use plastic straws, please let them use them in peace.

This will probably be my last blog post this year, so I hope you all have a FABULOUS New Year. (Anyone who watched 'I'm A Celebrity' this year will know that reference.)

See you next year!

4 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page