top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

My Recent Achievements


I've got some news to tell you. After six years, I've officially graduated from St Vincent College. I graduated on the 6 July. I am immensely proud of what I have achieved whilst being a student there... Thank you everyone for your support that you have given me! Whether you have supported me physically, academically, emotionally or all three, I really appreciate it. I know I have said thank you to most of the people at college personally before I left, but I want to thank you all from the bottom of my heart for everything you've done for me. You are simply amazing!

I have loved the time and experiances I've had at college. Being a student there has helped me in so many ways, including making friendships which I never thought I'd have. There are lots of things that I have learnt whilst being a student at St Vincent; one of the main lessons that I've learnt is one I thought I knew, but my time here has helped me reiterate the fact that you should never judge people without knowing the full story because you may miss out on wonderful friendships!

These photos are some good friends of mine, one of which I met in my second year at college. Paige has been a lovely friend to me from the day we met (I think that we met in our Media class)… I'm not proud to admit this, but the first few times that we met, I wasn't sure if we would make good friends, but as time went on, I realised that I got it all wrong; I was looking at it in completely the opposite direction to how I should have been! My six years at St Vincent College has helped me become more open and accepting towards others, and Paige has helped me with this, along with others. Thank you for not giving up, and thank you for accepting me!

Paige and Ailsa. On the left is Paige; she has blonde hair, and she is wearing black glasses, a pink sparkly top, a long black skirt, and black sandles. Paige is holding a silver sparkly clutch bag in her right hand and has her left hand on my wheelchair handle bar. Ailsa is at the right. Ailsa has short red/brown hair, she is wearing a black flowery skater dress with black tights.

I met this madam when I was 11 years old. Amber and I have been friends since I was in year 8 at school, and she had just started in year 7... She can be a right pain at times, but I literally love her to pieces! I know that I've said this about a million times before, but I honestly do not know what I'd do without her because she is one of my best friends that I have ever had, and ever will have! I know that if I needed her for anything, she would do her very best to be there! I would do the same as well.

Amber and Ailsa. Amber is standing to the right of Ailsa wearing a white flowery sun hat, sunglasses, a white top, and navy blue jeans. Amber has long light brown hair

Another friend of mine, whom I met at pre-school graduated last year. If I didn't mention him, it would be harsh, so here goes. I don't even need to say his name because he knows who he is. This friend has been part of my life and heart for years, even when we lost touch when we went to different schools, I still thought about him. When I went into Fareham with my family, sometimes we would bump into him and his family, which was nice. When I was in year nine, he came to the same senior school as me. Ever since, he has been like a brother to me... I hope he feels the same because I love him, and I would never change him for the world! Not long after we were reunited at school, we started going out together... Without a doubt, that year and a half was the longest and best relationship that I have ever had! I will never find a man like him again. He has been there for me for as long as I can remember! I will be there for him forever and a day!

There's one more friend which I need to talk about here: Charisma (AKA Tiz). I've known Tiz since primary school, and we have put up with each other for years... Even though I don't see her much, when I do see her, I really enjoy spending time with her. Like the other people I've mentioned, Tiz has always been there for me when I've needed her. Again, we lost touch when we went to seperate senior schools. Tiz is a few years younger than me, so I went onto Portchester while she stayed at Holbrook Primary before transitioning to Bridgemary School. A few years into college, I found out that Tiz would be starting at St Vincent College. When I was told this, I was so excited to see her again, I was also a little nervous because I hadn't seen her for so long!

A few months after she started, we were put in the same tutor group, which was awesome because we were able to bond again... Tiz soon became one of my best friends, and since then, we have been friends!

Good friendships really are golden, aren't they?

Anyway, here is my graduation certificate...

Ailsa's graduation certificate. St Vincent College logo at top, underneith it says: This is to certify that Ailsa Speak has completed her education at St Vincent College. Friday 5 July 2019. Signed by Sarah Hounsell, Head of 'School of Personalised Learning'.

If people try to tell you that you can't do something, just look inside yourself, and ask yourself a few questions: Do you think you can do it? Are you willing to try as many times as it takes? How would you feel when you prove them wrong? If you are struggling to do something one way, find another way that works for you!

I am also pleased to announce that I have a job! It isn't a job that I get paid to do, but that doesn't matter because all that matters is that I enjoy it. So far, so good! I have written two articles so far, and I have really got into it! I'm quite proud of what I have done! I'm writing for a website called Disability Horizons (http://disabilityhorizons.com).

I am so increadibly proud of everything that I have achieved, and who I've become... I couldn't have done it without the support! As I said at the end of my graduation speech, onwards and upwards!

Bye for now.


32 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page