top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

Portsmouth Dockyard - Part 8

On Friday 28th June, I visited HMS Warrior, the World’s first 'Iron Clad' ship, at the Portsmouth Dockyard. I haven’t got much to say about it because I was only able to get onto the main deck and for this reason there wasn’t much for me to see or interact with.

When I was about to get on HMS Warrior, I was greeted by a member of staff who was extremely polite, I was really impressed with the way she treated me. She was enthusiastic too, which made me feel welcome.

As The Warrior is on the sea we had to time the visit with tide to make sure the gang plank wasn’t too steep because if it was high tide, then it would make it difficult to push my wheelchair up onto the ship... Also, I waited for the summer months to visit Warrior because I would have more chance with being able to visit when the weather was good. The gang plank can be slippery deck if it gets too wet.

If you are able to transfer out of your wheelchair, they do have a stair lift which takes you down to the lower deck. Under the circumstances, I wasn't able to transfer, so unfortunately I could not see the lower deck. Due to it being a historical attraction, I understand that they can't do much to improve this. For these reasons, I wouldn't recommend going to the HMS Warrior if you use a wheelchair or walking frame because there was not much to see on the top deck.

I was going to go up to the second floor in Action Stations because I really enjoyed visiting last time... Unfortunately, the main lift wasn't working inside, and the lift outside was broken as well, so I couldn't get up there. I would suggest getting both lifts fixed, so they can be used.

After I had done all this, I went into the visitor's centre to get a bite to eat. The cafe was open and spacious, which meant that I could manoeuvre easily. The tables were a good space apart too. This cafe was brilliant, and their toasties were awesome!

I have been writing this blog series about the Portsmouth Dockyard for my work experience. As part of my college course, I was asked to have a look at the accessibility at the Portsmouth Dockyard. On the 14th of September 2018, I had my first job interview at the Portsmouth Dockyard. I was extremely pleased with how I handled it, and I am very impressed with how they spoke to and treated me too! Now, this was only for my work experience as part of my college course, but I'm tremendously proud of myself for doing so well!

I'm also glad I've made a difference. Having this experience has been amazing, and it has given me the opportunity to do so much!

Here is my certificate that I received...

Certificate of participation. Ailsa Speak. For being an excellent ambassador at THE DOCKYARDS. Presented by: SPL Careers Team. On this day: July 2019. Image of a white star in a purple shape with craon effect.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you have enjoyed this blog series.


26 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page