top of page
  • Ailsa and Faith

Guest Blog - Misconceptions About Disability


Hello everybody, today I am joined by my good friend, Faith. Misconceptions are made all the time, especially when it comes to disabilities. Many people just look at my wheelchair and think I am intellectually impaired as well as physically, but I'm not really. This is one of my favourite sayings: 'Don't judge a book by its cover'. I'm not sure who came up with it originally, but I like it, and it ties in well with this topic.

Now over to Faith for her views on this matter:

Hello everyone my name is Faith and today I'm going to give you a small sample of what my blog is like.I have Cerebral Palsy and use a wheelchair so today I'm going to be writing about my top 3 misconceptions of disability so let's get started.We don't understand others - my first common misconception is that disabled people can not understand the able bodied and therefore people are very skeptical to talk to us however personally I love meeting new people and love to answer their questions so please don't shy away!No wheelchair user can walk - Second on the list is that anybody who uses a wheelchair is completely unable to walk however this is strictly not true! Personally I am unable to walk however their are plenty of wheelchair users that can and use a wheelchair for longer distances!We stay at home - Lastly many people believe that someone with a disability stays at home and doesn't have a social life. I can clarify that this isn't true as a disabled teenager I meet up with friends and my favourite thing to do is go to gigs where I've met a lot of my friends!Those are my top 3 misconceptions of disability! I hope you enjoyed this little snippet of my writing there are plenty more post like this one over on my blog where I write about disability but occasionally do cooking and fashion.

You can also find out a lot more about me!

You can check it out here: faithmsite.wordpress.com Thanks for reading and I hope to see you over on my blog!

Thank you to Faith for helping me with this post. I hope you enjoyed it. I hope I'll see you next time.

Take care,

Ailsa


16 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page