top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

Clothes


Hi everyone, I hope you enjoyed Friday's blog post, that was the first guest blog I've done. If you liked it, please feel free to give it a like on Facebook and Twitter. Tell me what you think.

Moving swiftly on, today I would like to talk about clothes... Now, I wouldn't usually talk about this kind of thing, but I thought I would have a bit of a change. I wasn't really much of a "fashion" girl when I was in my school years, but now, however, I think I'm getting into it more.

First of all, I am going to talk about tops. Tops are great, aren't they? Lots of different designs and patterns. Lots of different styles. Personally, I like the long skater type tops, especially the flowery ones, not to be modest or anything, but I think they really suite me. Another reason why I like these is because they don't ride up much when I'm sat in my wheelchair, whereas other tops that are shorter might, and that is really irritating!

I am conscious about wearing tops that are short in the body and arms because I don't like showing too much flesh, I feel more comfortable if I'm wearing clothes that cover me up. Don't ask me why. That is just the way I am. Some of the tops that I have, I wear thin shirts under them because they have short cut sleeves.

Secondly, there's trousers. I only wear trousers and leggings, no shorts? Seriously, no way! You might have seen me in shorts when I was younger, but not now. Again, I feel more comfortable in trousers. The trouble lies with getting the trousers to fit, I have long legs, but a slim waist. Finding trousers that fit me in the leg, as well as around the waist is a flipping nightmare! It's fine when the trousers have adjustable waist, but when they don't, it becomes a huge pain... There are times when I have to wear shorts, and that's when I have appointments with the orthotics to do with my AFOs (ankle foot orthotics). Other than that, you would not see me in shorts! Here is a photo of my AFOs:

Red AFOs

The last things I would like to talk about are shoes. I have about five pairs of shoes, most of my shoes are high tops. I have high tops for a few reasons, but the main reasons are because the are comfy to wear and they protect my feet and ankles from getting hurt on my wheelchair. I live in this style of shoes!

Pink high-top boot

I hope you have enjoyed reading this, and I'll see you next time.


7 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page