top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

People With Disabilities Have Personal Space Too


Hi all, how are you? Today I would like to talk about how everyone has their own personal space, even people with disabilities.

Yesterday, I was out with my mum in Gunwarf, we just returned from a speed boat (I will write about that in another post later), and my mum asked me where there were nice places to eat, so said Bar 38.

When we arrived, the only small tables left were on a raised platform, so my mum lifted me up in my chair, luckiy I was in my manual wheelchair and there was only one step up. We decided to go to the table nearest the back.

There was an elderly lady sat at a table not far away from us, we went past her to get to our table. When we went past, she tried to touch me. I don't appreciate being touched by a complete strainger... It is extreamly unsettleling! I wonder if she would have done that if I was able-bodied. Probably not!

This lady was invading my personal space, it is wrong for anyone to touch someone else without permission! I was shocked!

How would you like it?


5 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page