top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

CP and Dystonia


Bonjour everyone! I have no idea why I said hello in French, but oh well. It makes it more interesting I guess... Anyway, before I start talking about what Dystonia is, I would just like to announce that I have completed paper 2 for my English GCSE! I did paper one on Tuesday, and paper two yesterday... I've been fighting to do this for five, long years, I'm so happy, it doesn't seem real! Finally! And relax! When I came out, I screamed "hallelujah" at the top of my voice! Now, all I have to do is wait until August for my results...

Let's get back to the subject: What is Dystonia? I don't know the ins and outs, but I know what Dystonia is. Basically, Dystonia is a neurological condition where the brain mixes up the signals traveling to the muscles, causing involuntary movements. The effects of Dystonia vary from person to person. Dystonia can be a condition on its own, or part of CP. Athetoid CP is often referred to Dystonia or Dystonic/Diakinetic CP, I think this is because the characteristics of each condition are extremely similar, Dystonia causes random movements, and so does Athetoid CP.

I'm not sure whether there is a difference between Diakinetic and Athetoid CP, but sometimes I wonder. I think that there must be differences between the two because doctors and professionals have different names. I have researched severel times, but all of the sites that I have looked at have said that they are both the same thing...

In my case, my Dystonia gets worse when I get hot, emotional or tired.

I don't have much else to say about Dystonia and Athetoid Cerebral Palsy, so I think I'm going to say farewell for now. Thanks for reading, see you next time.

Bye.


6 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page