top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

The Importance of Plastic Straws


Recently, the British government has been bringing laws in to ban plastic straws being given out in public businesses because it is extremely bad for the environment, I'm no expert, but I think that this is because as a nation, we don't dispose of it correctly.

Some people have had a go at me for voicing my views on this subject, a so-called "friend" moaned about how plastic is bad for the environment, so I explained my point, again. In the end, I just got extremely angry because he wasn't listening and he was being nasty, so I thought 'forget it'. End result: I thought that if he could be that horrible over something like that, then he wasn't my friend, so I removed him from my friends list on Facebook because I had a few incidents with him, and I was not going let him walk all over me anymore.

Plastic straws are SO important, I can't emphasise this enough! have said this before, and I will say it again: This is ridiculous! As a person who can ONLY drink through plastic straws, I don't believe that putting a blanket ban on plastic is the way forward. If plastic was banned, I would not be able to have a drink! There are millions of people out there who are in the same position...

Yes, alright, I know plastic is bad for the environment and animals, but we can help to reduce the effects, but not by banning plastic, which is essential and is used for many things; like straws... We can stop dumping it anywhere and everywhere and we can wash it and use it again.

Some people may say we can use paper straws, but not all of us are able to, so they are not an option! Paper straws are likely to disintegrate when someone drinks from them because the saliva from their mouths will make the straws wet and unlike plastic straws, they are more likely to fall apart as they are not strong enough to withhold the strong sucking action that some people do, I suck very hard on straws without meaning to. I am aware that some people may disagree with me here, but I think it's stupid that the government are banning plastic straws... You will be hard pushed to change my mind about this.

What about metal straws? As you know, metal is a hard material, so using metal is a no-go. Due to my poor muscle control, I tend to bite a little bit when I suck on things without meaning to. If I use a metal straw, I would hurt myself with them. I have seen metal straws that have soft spongy ends, but these bits are tiny and I would still hurt myself on them.

There are a lot of people who are in the same position, and I don't agree with this at all!

Think before you ban!

Thank you for reading this post, and I hope you can see where I am coming from.

Until next time, bye bye.

37 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page