top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

My Equipment and Gadgets: Part 3

Ailsa’s TV unit. It is made from oak wood and has two tall drawers, one on either side. Each drawer has a curved indent running from top to bottom. The drawer handles have long, red cords with black loop handles. The unit has two shelves in the middle. Top shelf has a black Blu-ray player with a ceramic badger, a Super Badger award, with the letter “B” on its white dungarees displayed on top. Beside the Blu-ray player is Ailsa’s CD collection. On the bottom shelf are two Miranda DVD sets and a black file. On top of the unit are the TV and two best friend ornaments, one on either side.

I store my DVDs and other bits and pieces in my TV unit drawers. Being neat and tidy is great, but there was a bit of a problem with having things in these drawers… The types of drawers that are part of my unit have handles that are an awkward shape, with tiny little gaps at the back. I don’t remember when, but I had another brilliant idea to make pull handles out of string… This worked to a certain extent but we just tied a loop in the end and each time I went to grab the loop, the string folded onto itself, and the loop turned into a long bit of string. My dad made me some pull handles made from paracord and edging, specifically edging made for edging hardboard. The paracord is strong enough so that it doesn’t snap, and the edging means that the loop handles keep their shape. (This is the edging: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00MMR21QK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&th=1)


Alisa’s computer setup. Left to right in a circular shape: Grey Milliard reading pillow and rounded grey garden seat cushion in front for Ailsa’s seat. A small square, grey box made from woven canvas with a large card reader in the corner of the box. Ailsa’s black remote switch stand. Ailsa’s GridPad tablet. Ailsa’s black and silver tower fan in the corner. Ailsa’s computer. Ailsa’s phone and bell.

My computer area is extremely important to me because it gives me access to multiple things like talking to the outside world; it’s where access everything on the internet, where I edit Brains on Wheels, write my blog posts, play my games, and of course, it’s how I listen to music! To the left of my computer, I have remote switches that I can switch plugs and my lights on and off. I’ve numbered and colour-coded my remote plugs so that I know which is which, but I didn’t have two packs of the same stickers, so they do look slightly different on the plugs and remotes... I’m sure that I’ve spoken about my remote plugs before in another blog post, so I won’t go into detail about this and bore you…

Black V-shaped plastic stand supported to form a vertical panel with switches attached by Velcro. Three identical white remotes with two small grey buttons, one above the other. One small light at the top of each remote indicates that the signal is being sent. Each switch is labelled with purple, red and green numbered stickers: 1, 2 and 3.

Staying in the living room, I have also had adaptions made to my windows to enable me to open and close them independently. This was in the pipeline from when I was offered this flat, back in January 2021, but they weren’t installed straight away because I needed to get the essential adaptions, like the wetroom and hoists done first. Before the window openers were installed, there were lots of speculations on whether I would be able to use them… If I remember correctly, the window openers work on Radio Frequency (RF) signals. I have a tablet that has Infra-Red (IR) capability built in, but unfortunately, it doesn’t have an RF transmitter built in. After a lot of back and forth, it was decided that I could have something called a relay installed which enables me to control the window openers from my tablet. I had two options: I could either activate the buttons by pressing and holding (then I would only need two buttons), or I could have four buttons, like this... I decided to go for this option because I would have difficulty with holding the buttons.

Screenshot of Ailsa’s window control page on her tablet. Buttons, left to right: Big blue back button with white text, smaller dark blue “Edit grid?” button with white text, rectangular, red “Reset single activation” button with white text, a greyed out “Confirm edit” button with white text, big red “Rest” button with white text. Below edit buttons is black text saying “Windows”. The next row has a medium lightness green rectangular button with white text saying “Open” and another button below saying “Open stop”. To the right of the “Open” buttons is a yellow square with a reminder saying “Press “Stop” buttons to stop relay each time you send a command”. To the right of this are two red buttons with white text saying “Close”, and “Close stop” below.

Once it was installed, it took a while to get the system fully working with my tablet, but in the end, we got there, thanks to the NHS Environmental Controls Team – I’m forever grateful for their help.


This is extremely important to me because I get hot easily due to my involuntary movements, and being able to open and close my windows means that I don’t have to rely on someone to do it for me and it means that if someone closes them without asking (which has happened a few times), I’m not stuck not being able to open them again. This system also has a manual switch on the wall beside the window, to allow other people to control the windows.


That’s it for part 3. Come back for the fourth instalment!

12 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page