top of page
  • Writer's pictureAilsa

The Social Care System: Part 3

Following on from my previous blog post on the social care system, we all know that the Covid 19 pandemic has a lot to answer for, especially in the health and care world. Up until recently, the UK Government was trying to bring in a law which made it mandatory for healthcare workers to have at least one Covid vaccine by a specific date, otherwise, they were out of the job. I think the Government has realised that this wasn't possible; it would only put more strain on the NHS. In one way, it's good that they've now abandoned that because it would mean losing more staff as no matter how many vaccines are given, there was no way every healthcare worker would have theirs by that date. However, in another way, it's bad because a lot of customers and companies do want their carers vaccinated to give that extra level of security against the virus. I know that I definitely would like my carers to have the vaccinations. I know that this limits my options, but because I use a wheelchair and can't stand unaided, and therefore less mobile, I thought it would mean that I am at risk of becoming more ill than others if I catch Covid 19 and this is why I like my carers to be vaccinated. Having said that, my mum, dad and I caught it in the first few weeks of October, and I was the least affected. Plus as well, if my carer is really ill, they won't be able to do their job. Some carers don't want to have the vaccinations, and they're entitled not to, but it limits the customer's options if they want their carers vaccinated.


I am overwhelmingly saddened to be writing about the Russian invasion in Ukraine, but it has to be done, so here goes... No matter what your views are in politics or whatever all this is about, this unprovoked war is having a huge impact on the world of live-in care. One of the main problems surrounding the war and live-in care is that carers who live in or near Ukraine are scared to travel for fear of leaving their families and friends and not being able to get back. Even writing this is making my anxiety levels rise... I know the UK is part of NATO, but I am worried about the whole thing.

Earlier this year, flights and trains were cancelled due to strikes. Tram strikes were due to take place between Monday 12 and Wednesday 14 September. As a nation, we were preparing for HM Queen Elizabeth the Second's funeral, which took place on Monday, 19 September 2022, so the strikes were suspended or cancelled. I'm guessing this is so that people could use the trains to travel to pay their respects. However, I won't be surprised if the public transport issues carry on after the upcoming strikes are over and done with because there will still be problems with transport, whether it is due to a lack of staff, or something else. These issues affect live-in carers because they rely heavily on trains and flights to transport them to their customers as a lot of live-in carers come from outside of the UK.


What bothers my parents and me is the fact that my mum and dad aren't going to be able to step in to care for me forever, if I continue to have problems with live-in carers, because they're in their late 50s and 60s now, so they won't be physically capable of caring for me when they are older. Right from the beginning of my independent living journey, I knew I wouldn't like to live in a supported living house because I prefer to have my own space, and I think I am an introvert, so I wouldn't like to have lots of other people around. I also have anxiety and I would feel uncomfortable living with lots of people because I can be socially awkward sometimes. I have a small circle of really good friends, and I got to know them through choice, and I am glad I have them, but if I lived in supported living accommodation, I wouldn't have as much choice who I “mingle” with. The sad fact is that if I can't find suitable live-in carers, I will have no choice but to live in residential care or supported living (people say there's a difference, but they both sound the same to me).

Everyone's experience of social care will be different, whether they have physical disabilities, intellectual disabilities, are older, are younger, or a mix of these. I have had a pretty crap start to my independent living journey, and the social care system has definitely not done me any favours. However, even though the system is well and truly broken, I am determined to live the best life I can!

53 views

Featured Posts

1/5

Recent Posts

Brains on Wheels Logo (No Background).pn
bottom of page